Church Reviews

How many of you have relocated to a new area and struggled to find a new church? It can be challenging to find a place to call home because often there is so little online that a church offers to really tell you their missiology, theology, worship and other aspects that are critical to a good church. A group of us are launching a new website called Church Reviews that will allow people to post comments, reviews and other observations about the churches they’ve attended.

My passion is to support local churches that hold to the gospel with a firm hand and live a life of mission with the other hand. I believe it is rare to find a church that is concerned with proper doctrine as well as desires to be the ‘beautiful mess’ of the kingdom of God. Our goal is to use these discussions to help people find God-glorifying churches.

More will come (including asking some of you to be Editors of your local area) but if you have suggestions or comments let me know. We hope to have this project launched in a week or two.

18 Comments
  • bob hyatt

    September 12, 2005, 1:39 pm

    hey man-
    looks good so far! I enetered our church…
    a couple of questions, though…

    Unitarians? perhaps just there for the purpose of reviewing?

    also- no space to enter your church’s website! 🙂

  • James Paul

    September 13, 2005, 12:28 am

    Great idea! The WWW should offer subjective info helping people find great churches in their area. I’m in the car business and it’s amazing to me how much information is available to people before they call me for a car. Cheers!

  • pete wmson

    September 20, 2005, 5:09 pm

    Hey Drew…as you know, I’ve thrown up a link and some comments on my site about this. The first comment I received had to do with a concern that this would degenerate into a sort of flame session where the bulk of the site was taken up with tearing down ministries rather than promoting the good ones. Would you mind swinging by and handling that or maybe you could write something on your blog about that that the rest of us could point to?

    pete

  • George Holcomb

    June 13, 2007, 5:38 pm

    On the way to the Middle East, the Christians decided that only one of their goals was to wrest control of Jerusalem from the Muslims. A secondary task was to rid the world of as many non-Christians as possible – both Muslims and Jews. The Crusaders gave the Jews two choices in their slogan: “Christ-killers, embrace the Cross or die!” 12,000 Jews in the Rhine Valley alone were killed as the first Crusade passed through. Some Jewish writers refer to these events as the “first holocaust.” Once the army reached Jerusalem and broke through the city walls, they slaughtered all the inhabitants that they could find (men, women, children, newborns). After locating about 6,000 Jews holed up in the synagogue, they set the building on fire; the Jews were burned alive. The Crusaders found that about 30,000 Muslims had fled to the al Aqsa Mosque. The Muslim were also slaughtered without mercy. The Roman Catholic church taught that going to war against the “Infidels” was an act of Christian penance. If a believer was killed during a crusade, he would bypass purgatory, and be taken directly to heaven. By eliminating what might be many millennia of torture in Purgatory, many Christians were strongly motivated to volunteer for the crusades. “After pronouncing a solemn vow, each warrior received a cross from the hands of the pope or his legates, and was thenceforth considered a soldier of the Church.” 3

    These mass killings were repeated during each of the 8 additional crusades until the final, 9th, crusade in 1272 CE. Both Christians and Muslims believed that they were fighting on God’s side against Satan; they believed that if they died on the battlefield they would be given preferential treatment in the Christian Heaven or the Muslim Paradise. Battles were fought with a terrible fierceness and a massive loss of life. Over a 200 year period, perhaps 200,000 people were killed. The Muslim warrior Salah a-Din subsequently recaptured Jerusalem from the Christians.
    Christians hate witches that why the burnt them.
    What they eventually ended up with was a collection of numbers far lower that originally suspected. In fact, modern scholars place the actual Burning Times death toll at between 40,000 and 200,000

  • Pat

    May 9, 2008, 7:02 pm

    I’m wondering why Westerly Road Church has an ad at the top of this page. Is it just that Google is recognizing that it’s near where I live? I’ve had a really abusive experience there and wouldn’t recommend it to anyone.

  • Melissa

    July 13, 2008, 12:56 pm

    Hi great idea, a hugely needed service. Our family just moved to Keller TX and we have gone months now visiting different churches but the process is so slow because none of te churches have been reviewed and we can only visit one church a week. I wish we could tell each church why they were not the church for us. You have a great start on the website, if I could suggest a couple of things, perhaps you could include a simple church search engine that searches based on distance from zipcode, denomination, and size. And perhaps a place to put reviews. Thanks and good work

  • JZ

    January 25, 2010, 9:00 pm

    In hope of assisting Church seekers Find a Church That Fits (TM), we have recently launched http://www.churchrater.com. It is a new website ran by a team including a former Pastor and a current Duke Divinity student that allows church seekers and members to rate and discuss their experiences at churches all across the country.

    ChurchRater is a combination of things: it’s ‘Yelp’ for churches where visitors can rate and discuss their experiences at church, but it’s also a social network for church goers and seekers, too, a place where people can dialog about their faith and their lives.

  • Phillip

    July 6, 2011, 9:29 am

    Very Interesting. I love the concept. People need a place where they can go and get unbiased reviews of Churches. Im thinking of something like this well, but If something good already exists, why re-invent the wheel?

  • Covenant Connections Church

    August 7, 2011, 8:43 am

    I guess this idea was ahead of its time. Google is now paying a lot of attention to reviews from trusted sites.

  • Andrew Melcher

    October 27, 2011, 12:41 pm

    check out http://churchreviews.blogspot.com/
    for unbiased church reviews.

    leave a review tell what happend

  • Timothy

    October 11, 2012, 9:53 am

    Visit Churchedin to find the right church for you. There are more than 300,000 churches and more churches are adding on daily basis. Churchedin website not only helps Christian to find a church but to provide them with relevant materials.

  • Brenda O'Neil

    December 15, 2014, 2:00 am

    I started attending the Conconully Methodist Church last summer. Pastor Jack Schneider is the pastor of the Omak church, as well as the Conconully Church. He doesn’t have enough time so he leaves the Conconully church before the service is over. He lets Edna Mae and her friends run the church. Edna Mae Hinger is a past barn dance singer and player and everyone in the church idolizes her and lets her do whatever she wants. A church basically run by a past barn dance player, where the liquor and loose morals prevailed. Edna Mae Hinger did not want me at “her’ church as I had to get two restraining orders through the court system against her brother to be safe, and she hates me for this–What qualities for a church leader! At staring time at the Conconully church I said that I had a concern and it is with Edna Mae Hinger and her unchristian behavior. Pastor Jack Scheider told me to shut up and leave and I said I have a concern and a few things to say. He threw me out of the church and injured my back. Pastor Jack Schneider should not be allowed to be a pastor at any church. Injuring a 72 year old woman should cancel his pastor position. Not doing his job of leading the church properly should cancel his pastor position. Hopefully he will be replaced before someone else gets hurt. This church is not a safe church.

    • Brenda O'Neil

      February 12, 2015, 12:15 am

      This is the 2014 scandal of Conconully, WA and it has spread out all over Okanogan County, and beyond! This is a small community and everyone knows pretty much what is going on. This news, has spread all over, even over to the Coulee Dam area, and over to the coast, and Edna Mae Hinger is now being referred to as the “Barn Dance Queen” of the United Methodist Church in Conconully, WA and she has her sidekick Pastor Jack Schneider, who is viewed as her “Bouncer” if Edna Mae WANTS someone thrown out. Pastor Jack Schneider fits right into being a “Bouncer” in this crude barn dance pattern of behavior. “Bouncers” at these past wild barn dances, at the request of the management or at the request of the band players and singers, were paid money to physical throw people out the door! I imagine Edna Mae Hinger feels really important to still have a “Bouncer” in her life, even though he is suppose to be a preacher!! I have reported this to the regional office of the United Methodist Church, but they won’t do anything about it. I have contacted Edna Mae Hinger’s son, Rod Truitt, to get him involved in helping his mother, but he will not even reply. She is getting very frail, but that is no excuse for her behavior. She needs to get her life straightened out before she passes on. But the “Barn Dance Queen” and “Bouncer Preacher Jack Schneider” still do whatever they want to do. Please, DON’t attend the United Methodist Church in Conconully, WA, or The United Methodist Church in Omak, WA. My injuries still bother me but so far I am trying to tough it out and not have surgery. The next person who questions “Barn Dance Queen Edna Mae” might not be so lucky when her “Bouncer Preacher Jack Schneider throwns them out. These churches should be closed down and Pastor Jack Schneider should be stripped of his position…How bad does it have to get before someone will do something about it???

  • Brenda O'Neil

    March 8, 2015, 12:46 am

    Today, “Bouncer” as we now call him, “Bouncer
    Pastor Jack Schneider” set down at a table across from me at a funeral for a friend. I had friends all around me and I felt very safe at that time. It took him a while to figure things out but pretty quick he was out of there and standing far away on the sidelines!!! He knew that I would call the Sheriff if he bothered me, and this time, I had friends to back me up. I wasn’t at his church where everyone sticks up for him no matter what he does. He is a sinner and it is a disgrace to have him preaching at churches, when he doesn’t even practice Christian behavior!

  • Brenda O"Neil

    July 17, 2015, 3:21 am

    It is all one big clichĂ©! Pastor Jack Schneider (now known around here as “Bouncer”) got away with bullying and hurting a 71 year old woman! The deputy investigating the case knows Pastor Jack Schneider and he didn’t want to get involved. Again, it is all one big clichĂ©. Edna Mae Hinger continues to get away displaying unchristian, rude, behavior, just because she can sing and play an accordion and everyone of the board idolizes her. All the board members in the church are great friends and many of them go on summer vacations together. They don’t want outsiders coming into their church with idealistic ideas which demand everyoneIt is such a small church that they have trouble getting a pastor to come to the church, so they aren’t about to criticize him!

  • Brenda O'Neil

    July 17, 2015, 3:44 am

    (Please use this posting instead of the one above)
    It is all one big cliché! Pastor Jack Schneider (now known around here as “Bouncer”) got away with bullying and hurting a 71 year old woman! The deputy investigating the case knows Pastor Jack Schneider and he didn’t want to get involved. Again, it is all one big cliché. Edna Mae Hinger continues to get away displaying unchristian, rude, behavior, just because she can sing and play an accordion and everyone on the board idolizes her. All the board members in the church are great friends and many of them go on summer vacations together. They don’t want outsiders coming into their church with idealistic ideas which demand everyone to be treated religiously and fairly. It is such a small church that they have trouble getting a pastor to come to the church, so they aren’t about to criticize Pastor Jack Schneider or Edna Mae Hinger, either! Can singing and playing an accordion get you into heaven? Can hurting a 71 year old woman in church be forgiven when Pastor Jack Schneider meets his maker? Someone needs to investigate this church and either close it down or reorganize it with people who practice proper Christian behavior.

  • Brenda O'Neil

    July 25, 2015, 7:50 pm

    I want to thank you for publishing my comments. However, the United Methodist Church in Conconully, WA still continues with Pastor Jack Schneider and Edna Mae Hinger doing as they please. I guess it will have to get as bad as the Catholic Church before someone will step up and make Pastor Jack Schneider and Edna Mae Hinger practice proper religious behavior. But I have made a small difference, thanks to your listings here. Several people have contacted me by phone and we discussed this church. They all were planning vacations to Conconully, and were going to attend this church but changed their minds about going there when they heard about their behavior and practices! Why, or why, can a religious place practice such horrible behavior and be able to continue on? Actually, I have read about people in the bible who continued practicing unchristian behavior like them and then I also read about their ultimate consequences!!!…Maybe not on this Earth, but Pastor Jack Schneider and Edna Mae Hinger will become accountable for their actions on their judgment day.

  • Brenda O'Neil

    February 13, 2016, 11:53 pm

    I tried to delete my comments above, but I was unable to figure out how to do it. It is time to move on and put all of this to a rest. I have several friends at this Conconully United Methodist Church, and also there are many good people who attend this church. What needs to happen is for them to take some leadership in this church and crush the sinning strain of people who are leading the good, Christian people astray. Connie Palmer is a wonderful person, a talented musician, and a friend of mine for over several decades. It is like I related to her, “You deserve a better church than this.” All people are not treated fairly in this church. If Edna Mae doesn’t like you–no one will at be brave enough to like you at this church. Everyone sits back and because Edna Mae Hinger can play the accordion and sing they think she should call all the shots on church behavior. Edna Mae Hinger is a sinner and if she likes you it is fine, but if she doesn’t, beware, don’t go to this church! They will do whatever they can to shut you up or throw you out. I have accomplished something through your website. Some good Christian people have contacted me on this church’s practices, and when they visited Conconully they decided they definitely would NOT ATTEND THIS CHURCH! But, beside this, nothing much as changed. Some people go to church there every Sunday but their part is to only warm the church benches, and they continue to just sit there like little puppets and let people be treated unfairly, unkindly, and no one will take the leadership and do anything about it. Edna Mae Hinger is really getting up in years; she needs guidance, and many prayers, and counseling from a good Christian Pastor, before she reaches her final day.