9 Parts of the Gospel?

I saw this from Joe Thorn on The Gospel and Its Meaning … 

The Gospel and Its Meaning by Harry L Poe, Charles Colson Professor of Faith and Culture at Union University is a book to help Christians understand the scope of the gospel in order to better preach and apply it to the people God has sent them to.  Poe argues that the good news is comprised of nine parts: the existence of a Creator, the fulfillment of Scripture, the incarnation of Jesus Christ as son of God and son of David, his death for sins, his resurrection, his exaltation, the gift of the holy spirit, the return of the Lord, and human response.

Thoughts?  I haven't read the book, so I don't know if 'the fulfillment of scripture' encompasses things such as the Kingdom.

1 Comment
  • Joe Thorn

    February 2, 2007, 7:46 am


    Poe obviously does not have a separate theme within the Gospel as “Kingdom,” though he does hit it throughout the book in different chapters. Yes, he does hit it in the Fulfillment of Scripture, and the Incarnation, but spends the largest amount of time (five pages) on it in the chapter on The Exaltation of Christ. It is good, but I would have liked more here.

    What I really like about the book, and what I have been teaching a few of our Home Groups this week, is that the Gospel is multifaceted and can/should be applied to individuals and cultures uniquely depending on where they are at spiritually. In the end, I would say more in some ways and less in others, but the books approach to communicating the Gospel is great.